Hang The Seventh sun

Where were you when I needed you? When I wanted you?

Each time I looked around you were gone. What could I do?

Each time I gave you up and I began to roam.

Yet tears of joy would fill my eyes each time you came back home.

 

Seven times you knocked and each time I let you in,

Right back where we started, no beginning and no end.

And though you think you’ve seen it all, you’ve only just begun.

But walk with me just one more time and we’ll hang the seventh sun!

 

Yeah, we went up on that mountain ten years ago today.

The beaver popped his tail and you tried to run away.

We fought the water and the fire, the earth and the wind

To find the valley of the secret cave and we went in.

 

Now comes the hardest thing you’ll ever have to do.

You must decide for yourself what is right for you.

The White Bird of Freedom is leaving on its way—

Seven is the deadline and it won’t wait another day…..

 

©Larry Brinkley 1993

Leave a Reply

