There You Are

I felt my lover’s muscles tense, her face a mask of surprise.

I looked and saw my wife standing there with tears in her eyes.

She didn’t say a single word, she just turned and left.

When I found her by the car she looked at me and said,

“You can run away from your mama, or leave your wife and kids.

You can hide in the darkest cave and think you’re really hid,

But you can never hide from the one who bears your scars.

No matter where you go in life, remember, there you are!”

We rode home in silence. It was the longest ride of my life.

I didn’t know if I still had a home, or if she was still my wife.

She never spoke of that day again, and that was twenty years ago.

But no matter how rough life gets, in my heart I’ll always know

You can run away from your mama, or leave your wife and kids.

You can hide in the darkest cave and think you’re really hid,

But you can never hide from the one who bears your scars.

No matter where you go in life, remember, there you are!

 

©Larry Brinkley 1993

 

Leave a Reply

